Stories & Annual Report  |  Annual Report

2020 Annual Report

Annual report 2020 all about its female employees

ORS publishes its Annual Report 2020 and focuses in its reporting on its female employees. With 37% of all 1300 employees being women, there is still potential for improvement. In the report female colleagues working in various mandates and functions provide an insight into their daily work. Thus, they document the diverse challenges of accommodating, taking care of and integrating asylum seekers and refugees. The 2020 business year was also marked by the consequences of the Corona pandemic at ORS. Nevertheless, the company succeeded in securing its profitability despite a slight decline in turnover.

Screenshot_EN.PNG
Discover the world of ORS

2018-EN.PNG
annual-report-ors-group-2019-language-en

Stories & Annual Report  |  Booklets

Reports from our centres

The experience of establishing a regional reception centre in Sigmaringen

At first, the process of establishing a hostel for asylum seekers may feel as though it’s an endless bureaucratic battle: service targets, processes, quality management. But the central issue is to provide the best possible care for refugees. It’s important not to lose sight of the fact that this not only requires social responsibility and skills, but also efficiency and a lot of legwork, as the example of Sigmaringen shows.      

Insights into the ORS work integration programme

More than 56,000 recognised refugees currently live in Switzerland, and most do not have a job. This costs the public purse a huge amount of money, deprives the economy of a potential workforce and affects the refugees’ self-esteem. Ultimately, everyone benefits from more of them having jobs.

What it means to manage a cantonal asylum centre

All those who enter Switzerland seeking asylum have had a long journey and usually have a troubled story behind them. Unfortunately, there’s no time to stop and rest because the next challenge awaits: integration. ORS shows how it accompanies arrivals in canton Fribourg as they enter the next stage of their journey.

 

Stories & Annual Report   |  #WeareORS

Building bridges

During his childhood in Sudan, Taha learned from his grandfather how to offer advice to those in need and act as an intermediary. He is married to a Swiss woman, and dreams of one day working with children living on the streets.

Taha has been looking after asylum seekers for almost 10 years. The 51-year-old sees himself as a bridge-builder between cultures among those he supports. At the repatriation centre in Rohr near Zurich airport, Taha works with people caught between hope, resignation and frustration. He strives to defuse conflicts and engage respectfully with everyone, regardless of their residence status.

Today, he is the deputy manager of the repatriation centre and takes care of the concerns of about 70 people. Finding the right balance between closeness and distance in his day-to-day care work is challenging. Although he is not responsible for the authorities’ decisions, he does his best to help people shape their daily lives as positively as possible in their particular circumstances.

 

Stories & Annual Report   |  #WeareORS

Simply
being there

Simone Merk supports refugees at the federal asylum centre in Bern. Since the outbreak of the coronavirus pandemic, she has been faced with the challenge of educating concerned residents in order to alleviate their fears of infection. Initially, the instructions to comply with hygiene regulations and maintain social distancing weren’t taken very seriously. In the meantime, however, the asylum seekers have become extremely careful and understanding of the situation. ‘We need to be there for our asylum seekers 24/7, and still do our jobs as responsibly and as conscientiously as we did before the pandemic,’ says Simone. ‘People are in desperate need of information. The more we are there for them, the more opportunity we have to provide that information and ease their worries.’ It’s important, she says, that she and her colleagues keep a cool head and support and encourage one another. 

Stories & Annual Report  |  Health

Spotlight on health – why what we say isn’t always what we mean

The taboos surrounding specific health issues in certain cultures require a highly sensitive approach. Our information events are always held with the appropriate specialists and trusted individuals from the relevant culture. They are held in a confidential setting in an informal and relaxed atmosphere.

When it comes to female genital mutilation (FGM), for example, we never explicitly invite people to events on this topic. The subject is highly taboo and addressing it directly is a deterrent. Instead, we organise workshops on topics such as pregnancy and women’s health and incorporate the issue into these. The subject is addressed indirectly and in a situational context, with the aim of informing women about the treatment options available to them and offering them access to medical help.

Stories & Annual Report   |  Prevention

Conflict prevention and safety

The safety of all of those in our care, our teams and other parties involved in our services is one of our top priorities. Our support and safety concepts focus on the following aspects:

Prevention through information

With clear, transparent information, personal discussions on arrival and at follow-up events, and coordinated sign management, we ensure that people receive the right information at the right time, in the right place. Our aim is to avoid misunderstandings and the spread of inaccurate information within the centre.

Prevention through smart infrastructure

We establish mobility policies and organise routes, entrances and exits in order to maintain clear passages and avoid any potential conflicts caused by people gathering. Our interior design is clear, welcoming and functional, and is structured in such a way that it offers plenty of space, clear routes and signage, and rooms to retreat to.

Prevention through proactive support

We seek daily contact with the asylum seekers and refugees, and are present in the centres. This allows us to gauge any changes in mood or atmosphere and take the necessary measures.

We offer a wide range of occupational activities to give residents a solid structure and working routine. We also provide opportunities for them to get involved in sports and creative activities.

Prevention through skilled, well-trained teams

Our employees receive training and are prepared for their responsibilities from day one. In addition to mission statements, support guidelines, initiation courses and eLearning programmes, we place great emphasis on a professional approach to closeness and distance. Our managers have a close-knit, employee-focused leadership style; they maintain daily dialogue and hold regular team meetings in which minutes are taken. Responsibilities and skill sets are clearly defined, and job profiles are detailed and well established. Our staff and managers have the opportunity to undergo further training by taking part in our specialist and management courses.

 

Crisis intervention and safety concepts

In emergencies, we work with ABC plans and have a clear chain of responsibilities and communication. Our emergency procedures have been tried and tested, and they follow defined checklists and processes. In cases of crisis intervention, we call on psychologists and/or emergency pastoral care as required, and provide appropriate our residents with follow-up support through supervision or peer support.

annual-report-ors-group-2019-language-en

Stories & Geschäftsbericht  |  Geschäftsbericht

Geschäftsbericht 2019

Eintauchen in die Welt von ORS

Mit der Veröffentlichung unseres Geschäftsberichts 2019 setzen wir die transparente Informationsstrategie im stark volatilen Asylwesen fort. Wir blicken zurück auf ein herausforderndes Geschäftsjahr, das geprägt war von rückläufigen Asylzahlen und Neu-Vergaben von wichtigen Mandaten in Deutschland, Österreich, Italien und der Schweiz. Der Blick zurück macht uns stark für die Herausforderungen, die vor uns liegen. 

 

Wir vermitteln einen Einblick in ein spannendes und vielseitiges Umfeld, bei dem Menschen im Mittelpunkt stehen – sei es als Bewohner*in einer Unterkunft, als Mitarbeitende*r oder als Auftraggeber, Lieferant oder Interessent.

 

Stories & Geschäftsbericht  |  Booklets

Reportagen aus den Unterkünften

Über die Aufbauzeit der ORS in der Landeserstaufnahme-einrichtung Sigmaringen

Der Aufbau einer Asylunterkunft, das klingt zunächst wie die Bändigung eines Papiertigers: Leistungsvorgaben, Prozesse, Qualitätsmanagement. Dabei geht es doch darum, geflüchtete Menschen möglichst gut zu betreuen. Das stimmt, und genau deshalb braucht es neben Sozialkompetenz auch Effizienz – und viel Laufarbeit wie das Beispiel von Sigmaringen zeigt.

Einblicke ins
Arbeitsintegrationsprogramm
der ORS

In der Schweiz leben über 56 000 anerkannte Flüchtlinge. Die meisten ohne Job. Das kostet die Öffentlichkeit einen Haufen Geld, die Wirtschaft potenzielle Arbeitskräfte und die betroffenen Menschen einen Teil ihrer Selbstachtung, weil sie nicht für ihr eigenes Leben aufkommen können. Hätten mehr eine Arbeit, könnten alle profitieren.

Was es heisst, ein kantonales Asylzentrum zu leiten

Wer in der Schweiz um Asyl anklopft, hat bereits eine lange Reise hinter sich und eine schwierige Geschichte auf dem Buckel. Doch ausruhen können sich die Asylsuchenden nicht. Die nächste Herausforderung wartet:  die Integration. Im  Kanton Freiburg zeigt die ORS, wie sie die ankommenden Menschen auf der nächsten Etappe ihres Weges begleitet.

 

Stories & Geschäftsbericht  |  #Wir sind ORS

Engagiert als Brückenbauer

Schon während seiner Kindheit im Sudan hat Taha von seinem Grossvater gelernt, vermittelnd und beratend für hilfsbedürftige Menschen einzustehen. Er ist mit einer Schweizerin verheiratet und träumt davon, sich später einmal für Strassenkinder einsetzen zu können.

Taha ist seit bald 10 Jahren in der Betreuung von Asylsuchenden tätig. Der 51-Jährige versteht sich im Umfeld der zu betreuenden Menschen als Brückenbauer zwischen den Kulturen. Im Spannungsfeld zwischen Hoffnung, Resignation und Frustration versucht der gebürtige Sudanese im Rückkehrzentrum Rohr, in der Nähe des Flughafens Zürich, Konflikte zu entschärfen und Menschen, egal welchen Aufenthaltsstatus sie haben, mit Respekt zu begegnen.

 

Heute ist er stellvertretender Zentrumsleiter in einem Rückkehrzentrum und kümmert sich um die Anliegen von rund 70 Personen. Die Balance zwischen Nähe und Distanz im Betreuungsalltag sieht er als Herausforderung. Er ist nicht verantwortlich für die Entscheide der Behörden, sorgt stattdessen aber im Rahmen der vorgegebenen Rahmenbedingungen Dafür, die zu betreuenden Menschen bestmöglich durch den Tag zu begleiten.

 

Stories & Geschäftsbericht  |  #Wir sind ORS

Einfach
da sein

Seit dem Ausbruch der Corona-Krise steht Simone Merk als Betreuerin im Bundesasylzentrum Bern vor der Herausforderung, mit Aufklärungsarbeit verunsicherten Bewohner*innen, die Angst vor einer Ansteckung zu nehmen. Anfänglich wurden die Hinweise zum Einhalten der Hygienevorschriften und zum Abstandhalten nicht so ernst genommen. Doch inzwischen erlebt sie die Asylsuchenden als vorsichtig und verständnisvoll. „Wir müssen 24 Stunden für unsere Asylsuchenden da sein und den Job genauso verantwortungsvoll und gewissenhaft erledigen, wie vor Corona“, beschreibt die Betreuerin ihre Motivation und ergänzt: „Der Informationsbedarf ist riesig. Je mehr wir für sie da sind, desto besser können wir sie informieren und somit auch beruhigen.“ Damit verbunden ist ihr Wunsch an Kolleg*innen, dass alle einen kühlen Kopf bewahren und sich gegenseitig unterstützen und ermutigen.  

Stories & Geschäftsbericht  |  Gesundheit

Blickpunkt Gesundheit – Warum wir manchmal etwas anderes meinen, als wir sagen 

Je nach Kultur werden vereinzelte Gesundheitsthemen tabuisiert und erfordern eine sehr sensible Herangehensweise. Unsere Informationsveranstaltungen führen wir immer mit entsprechenden Fach- und Vertrauenspersonen aus der jeweiligen Kultur durch. Das Setting ist vertraulich und die Atmosphäre entspannt. 

Am Beispiel der weiblichen Genitalverstümmelung, der Female Genitale Mutilation «FGM» laden wir nie konkret zu dieser Veranstaltung ein. Dieses Thema ist hochtabuisiert und schreckt in der direkten Konfrontation ab. Wir organisieren dafür Workshops zu den Themen «Schwangerschaft» und «Gesundheit von Frauen» oder ähnlichem, in dem das Thema eingebettet ist. Die Ansprache erfolgt situativ und indirekt mit dem Ziel, betroffene Frauen über die Möglichkeiten einer Behandlung zu informieren und ihnen den Zugang zu medizinischer Hilfe zu ermöglichen. 

Stories & Geschäftsbericht  |  Prävention

Konfliktprävention & Sicherheit 

Die Sicherheit aller uns anvertrauten Personen, Teams und weiteren involvierten Playern ist unser zentrales Anliegen. In unseren Betreuungs- und Sicherheitskonzepten achten wir auf folgende Punkte: 

Prävention durch Information

Mit klarer und transparenter Information und persönlichen Gesprächen beim Eintritt, Folgeveranstaltungen und ein organisiertes Beschilderungsmanagement sorgen wir für die richtige Information zur richtigen Zeit, am richtigen Ort. Das Ziel ist die Vermeidung von Missverständnissen und die Verbreitung von Falschinformationen in der Unterkunft. 

Prävention durch eine kluge Infrastruktur

Wir erstellen Bewegungsprofile und organisieren die Laufwege sowie Ein- und Ausgänge so, dass die Wege frei sind und mögliche Konfliktherde aufgrund sich ansammelnder Personen vermieden werden. Unsere Inneneinrichtung ist klar, freundlich und funktional und so organisiert, dass es genügend Platz, klare Laufwege und Beschilderungen aber auch Rückzugsmöglichkeiten gibt. 

Prävention durch die «aufsuchende Betreuung» 

Wir suchen täglich den Kontakt zu den Asylsuchenden und Flüchtlingen und sind in der Unterkunft präsent. So können wir im Voraus abschätzen, ob sich die Stimmung und Atmosphäre in der Unterkunft verändert und entsprechende Massnahmen treffen. 

Wir bieten umfassende Beschäftigungsmassnahmen an, um den Bewohner*innen eine feste Struktur und Arbeitsroutine bieten zu können und bieten darüber hinaus Sport- und Kreativangebote. 

Prävention durch gute, geschulte Teams 

Unsere Mitarbeitenden werden ab dem ersten Tag geschult und auf ihre Aufgabe vorbereitet. Neben Leitbildern, Betreuungsleitfäden, Willkommenskursen und eLearnings legen wir grossen Wert auf eine professionelle Haltung in Bezug auf Nähe & Distanz. Unsere Führungskräfte führen eng und mitarbeiterorientiert und tauschen sich täglich sowie in regelmässigen, protokollierten Teamsitzungen aus. Die Zuständigkeiten und Kompetenzen sind klar geregelt und die Stellenprofile detailliert und bewährt. In unseren Fach- und Führungskursen können sich die Mitarbeiter*innen und Führungskräfte entsprechend weiterbilden. 

 

Kriseninterventions- und Sicherheitskonzepte 

Für den Ernstfall arbeiten wir mit A-B-C-Schemata und haben eine klare Aufgaben- und Kommunikationskette. Die Notfallorganisation ist bewährt und erprobt und erfolgt nach klaren Checklisten und Abläufen. In der Krisenintervention greifen wir bei Bedarf auf Psycholog*innen und/oder Notfallseelsorger*innen zurück und führen mittels Supervisionen oder Intervisionen eine entsprechende Nachbetreuung durch. 

 
 
ORS Gruppe
Kontakt

ORS Management AG

Röschibachstrasse 22
8037 Zürich
T +41 44 386 67 67

ORS Schweiz

ORS Service AG Röschibachstrasse 22
CH-8037 Zürich
T +41 44 386 67 67

info@ors.ch

www.ors-schweiz.ch

ORS Italien

ORS Italia S.r.l. 

Piazza Annibaliano 18 

IT-00198 Roma

info@ors-italia.it

www.ors-italia.com

ORS Österreich

ORS Service GmbH

Mooslackengasse 17

AT-1190 Wien

T +43 1 253016 2362

info@orsservice.at

www.ors-austria.at

ORS Deutschland

ORS Deutschland GmbH

Güterhallenstrasse 4  

D-79106 Freiburg 

Tel. +49 (0)761 769 931 20  info@ors-deutschland.de

www.ors-deutschland.de

ORS Spanien

ORS España Servicios
Sociales, S.L.

Av Felipe II 17 Pl. 1 Pta. 1 

ES-28009 Madrid

www.ors-espana.es

ORS EU Office

ORS Group

14b Rue de la Science

BE-1040  Bruxelles

T +32 2 880 3783

www.ors-group.org

Besuchen Sie uns!
  • ORS Group
  • ORS Youtube
  • ORS Facebook
Unsere Zertifikate